Elma Historical Society's
The Society collects, preserves and exhibits materials pertinent to the social and cultural development of the customs, traditions and lifestyles of rural America with emphasis on the 19th century.
The Town of Elma Museum will be open Thursdays from 1-4 pm during the winter months.
Appointments may be made by calling 652-9458.
Pictured above is the business district at Elma Center about 1913. From the left, Homer Hoyt's general store, Joseph Geyer's blacksmith shop and livery stable, Bill Beicke's saloon, Frank Slade's seed store and Peter Grader's saloon. On September 25, 1922 a fire gutted the entire block. A store, house, garage and restaurant were rebuilt on the site but everything except the store was destroyed during the fall of 1936.
Please use the back button to return to this page after viewing our newsletter
Email the Society at firstname.lastname@example.org
Museum (716) 655-0046
Inside the Hurd and Briggs Saw Mill. This undated photo shows the sawing of timber. It's not known what happened to the Mill, but it's believed that it might have burned. Members of the Society constructed a replica of the mill, with a 2,000 lb. working water wheel. Visitors are welcome to experience the history and the sawing of timber at the mill.